Uncategorized

Yes, you can be a single mom and get an MBA.

Fortune

As an entrepreneur with eight years of full-time work experience and three startups under my belt, earning an MBA seemed like the next natural step in my career progression. But as a newly single mother to my son, Shafiq, age 7, and my daughter, Nyah, age 3, finding the resources and encouragement to pursue the degree felt virtually impossible.

It was a hectic time. I was running my own consulting firm while adjusting to unexpected challenges in my personal life. I was raising my daughter alone and supporting my son from afar. Shafiq lives with my relatives in Uganda. My ex-husband and I adopted him when we were living there, managing a youth development nonprofit we co-founded. Unfortunately, Shafiq was unable to come to live in the U.S. with me.

Unsure if I could realistically pursue an MBA given all the financial, academic and personal demands involved, I enrolled in

View original post 482 more words

Leave a Reply

